Apostolic Friends Forum

Apostolic Friends Forum (https://www.apostolicfriendsforum.com/index.php)
-   The Garden Path (https://www.apostolicfriendsforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Heirloom organic non-GMO seeds vs Hybrid (https://www.apostolicfriendsforum.com/showthread.php?t=45858)

KeptByTheWord 03-21-2014 05:39 PM

Heirloom organic non-GMO seeds vs Hybrid

1 Attachment(s)
What is your opinion on using heirloom, organic, non-GMO seeds versus the hybrid versions, or seeds that Montsanto has possibly manipulated?

Reason I am asking is because this year, I have purchased all heirloom seeds from a company called www.mypatriotsupply.com I received them in the mail yesterday, and I am really excited about them. They come in mylar bags, and were only $1.50 a package with at least 100 seeds in each package! I have posted a picture of them below. I got a lot of seeds for a small investment.

This is my first year to try to go non-GMO all the way. In past years, I've mixed organic and hybrids.

Anyone else doing strict heirloom only? If you are planting a garden, where are you buying your seeds? Did you save your seeds from last year?

Please share your experiences! Thanks :)

Amanah 03-21-2014 07:12 PM

Re: Heirloom organic non-GMO seeds vs Hybrid

I have been toying with the idea of planting a 4' X 4' garden.

The idea is to build a wooden box on the ground and fill it with a mixture of:

* Blended Compost
* Peat Moss
* Coarse Vermiculite

I had not given any thought to the seeds I would use though, and now you have given me something else to think about.

I would like to grow tomatos, cucumbers and maybe melons.

The main problem I have is that my yard has a ton of trees, bushes, plants and shade. I have yet to figure out what spot would get the optimum amount of sun.

Praxeas 03-21-2014 09:23 PM

I never understood the problem with GMO foods. Man has been genetically manipulating foods for centuries through cross breeding. All our food is GMO