Apostolic Friends Forum
Tab Menu 1
Go Back   Apostolic Friends Forum > The Fellowship Hall > The Newsroom
Facebook

Notices

The Newsroom FYI: News & Current Events, Political Discussions, etc.

Old 03-07-2008, 08:08 AM
Shaking the dust off my shoes.

Illegal Immigration

I am a ham operator, and I just participated in a conversation about the issue of illegal immigration. One of the participants feels that the best solution to the problem would be to round all the "Mexicans" up and ship them back to Mexico. Another person thinks it would be a good idea to clear our jails of all the illegal immigrants, and he also thinks that illegal immigrants are taking jobs away from even those with college degrees.

With the one who thinks we should round them all up and ship them out, I tried to make the point that, from a logistical standpoint, it would be a nightmare to round up the 12-14 million illegal immigrants we have in this country and send them back to Mexico, not to mention how much it would cost. He went on and on and on about how they're not paying taxes, contributing to our economy, etc., etc. We need to seal the border, etc., etc. I told him I agreed with him that we need to seal the border, but a better solution would be to offer amnesty to the illegals who are already in the country once we get the border sealed. That way they don't have to live in hiding, taxes taken out of their paychecks will actually find its way into the system, they would have more of an incentive to learn English. I also tried to point out that, even though they are illegals, they are still contributing to the economy because they buy food, gasoline, cars, and shop at Wal Mart for clothes and their necessities just like the citizens do. Rounding them all up would eliminate 12-14 millions consumers from our economy and how can that help us?