Apostolic Friends Forum
Tab Menu 1
Go Back   Apostolic Friends Forum > The Sanctuary > Deep Waters
Facebook

Notices

Deep Waters 'Deep Calleth Unto Deep ' -The place to go for Ministry discussions. Please keep it civil. Remember to discuss the issues, not each other.

Old 07-25-2007, 06:46 AM
Still Figuring It Out.

Letting The Word Speak vs Making The Word Talk

Now... from jump go I want to express that I am fully aware that what I am about to put forth here could be nothing more than a difference in the various ministries. As a teacher I may simply see things differently than an evangelist etc.

I was thinking last night about how some use the word of God in their ministry compared to others.

When some teach they tend to take the word and read from it and will then tend to attempt to discover what that portion of scripture was actually saying to us and break that down somewhat. Sometimes other scripture will tie to that scripture and sometimes there will be only one reading.

When others teach they tend to take the word and read from it and then take that scriptural reference and use it as a backdrop for a general lesson. They will sometimes also add other stories with similar themes and thread them throughout the sermon to fortify their thought.

In the first scenario, IMO, the word is being opened up and being allowed to speak (assuming the teacher has a proper understanding of what the scripture was trying to say).

In the second scenario, IMO, the word is being opened up and, for lack of a better word, "used" to make a point. Sometimes even used on an even keel of some other story, either real or imagined, that fortifies the point.

Is there anything wrong with either of these scenarios?

Is there any inherent danger with either of these scenarios?

Those who have been around longer than the rest of us... has this always been the way it has been? (as far as our own memory serves)