Apostolic Friends Forum
Tab Menu 1
Go Back   Apostolic Friends Forum > The Fellowship Hall > Fellowship Hall
Facebook

Notices

Fellowship Hall The place to go for Fellowship & Fun!

Old 01-06-2008, 04:35 PM
Administrator

I need ideas......

I need ideas of activities to do with the Young at Heart group at church.

I've been working with them unofficially for the last 6 months or so. As of Jan 1, I've officially been named as being completely in charge of this ministry.

What are some things that different churches do as activities for the 50+ crowd?

Besides a monthly get-together for fellowship & food, what other things can we do. At these luncheons, we give door prizes, play bingo, have music & a short devotional/sermonette by a different minister each month. These things are all okay, but I want more ideas so that we can do some different things.

One of the first things I am going to do is to try to do a fundraiser in March, to have a fund set up for the expenses of these activities, etc. So that when we plan something special for them, there's never the problem of someone not being able to afford to participate.

I've talked to the youth pastor about getting the youth group involved as volunteers to go out to the homes of these senior citizens to lend a helping hand with tasks they may not be able to do themselves.

I would greatly appreciate any input, I need new ideas because I am currently having to plan out my activity schedule for the coming year.
Old 01-06-2008, 05:01 PM
Admen in Training

Try Paintball! Kidding.

Actually if may sound like it would not work but buy a Nintendo Wii. It is very easy to learn and they will love playing it. It will keep them in some shape as well. Many Sr. Homes use these for entertainment.
Old 01-06-2008, 05:02 PM
Smiles everyone...Smiles!!

One get together, sponsor a missionary.